Alpaca Love

2016-08-19 10.57.41

This week I have been dyeing this new yarn base of 100% baby alpaca and I am so in love with how soft this fibre is. My first encounter with these lovely creatures was at YarnDale in Skipton last year. They were quite playful and didn’t mind human’s company.

Here they were smiling and enjoying having their photos taken 🙂

I have read some forum threads that discussed dyeing with alpaca yarn and fleece and a few mentioned that it didn’t take the dyes in as well as merino. But to my surprise, I dyed these two colourways and they turned out quite right, just the way I wanted 🙂

On the left is “Enchanted Garden” and on the right is “Alpaca’s Kisses”

I have set aside a few skeins to knit a project for myself this autumn (who can resist!?)and have listed a few in my shop www.handdrawnyarn.etsy.com as well.

Have you ever knitted/crocheted/worked with alpaca yarns? If so, what are your favorite projects and patterns? I have in mind that this yarn would be perfect for a shawl 🙂

I am heading to Revelry to check out some lovely shared patterns/projects now so i can get some ideas.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

